A 7-fig copywriter challenged me…

He challenged me to sell an ‘unsellable’ product.

And the product he gave me?

Was indeed unsellable… at least that was what I thought.

Because he gave me a secondhand rusty watering can

Now sell that…

But I was optimistic.

I sat down and started thinking about my Big Idea.

Got some ideas but the best one was this:

“An antique-looking rusty vase watering can”

That’s… not good.

So I continued.

And after like 30 minutes something popped into my mind.

“Is rust bad or good for plants?”

Turns out plants need iron, and they can get it from rusty water too.

BOOM.

That was my Big Idea.

I instantly knew it because ideas started to flow after that. I got ideas for my lead, objections I needed to handle, everything. Things that otherwise I need to spend hours on now came to me in an instant.

The idea was that this watering can help your plants grow.

Here is my headline:

“My grandpa’s well-kept secret for a beautiful garden”

But I still felt like I could do better, so I went even more specific:

“My grandpa’s well-kept secret for award-winning tomatoes”

I continued with the secret throughout my lead.

And only revealed it after my lead.

But there was still one more thing left.

If plants get too much rust and iron it could damage them.

This would be a problem when selling the product…

But I used this as an opportunity.

I said that there is a manual to this can that says how often you need to water your tomatoes with it to grow big.

This way, I just handled an objection…

And worked in another secret into the story that they can only reveal after they buy.

This exercise taught me a lot and it was also fun to do.

And now, I will challenge you.

Sell me an old dull kitchen knife.

Write a short sales page and send it to me.

‘Till next time

-Kristof Nemeth