• Kristof Nemeth
  • Posts
  • A very “flat” and painless approach to injecting emotion into your copy

A very “flat” and painless approach to injecting emotion into your copy

One of the painful experiences I had in copywriting was when I was trying to figure out emotional writing. I sweated blood because…

You have to know your market real well to know what emotions you need to use.

And…

You have to heighten those emotions in your reader only using copy.

Also just to make it more exciting...

I'm not much of an emotional person anyway. So whenever I decided to vow emotions into my writing, I fell flat on my face because I was completely clueless about how to go about it.

But let’s just put the excuses to the side now…

There's still a way you can practically inject strong emotions into your writing even if you are emotionally as flat as a basketball(or like me).

Because let's face it...

If your writing is plain, dull and boring, very few people will gather the courage to push that "buy now" button. Rather they will hover over to the red X in the corner of Chrome.

So here's how you want to go about it:

This is something I heard from Clayton Makepeace who was a master copywriter and definitely in my top 10 of all time.

What he used to do is...

Dig up all of the benefits his product had.

And then he would ask himself 2 simple and quick questions:

  1. “How is my prospect likely to feel about each of these benefits that my product provides?”

  2. “How does he feel right now about not having those benefits in his life?”

If you want to answer these questions without your market research and knowledge in place you are being back-ass-wards.

You need to know your market first.

Then you can answer these 2 questions.

Also...

If you are as dull as I am and you can hardly name more than 3 emotions(without hungry and horny being one)... then you might want to do a quick google search.

You will be surprised.

Also… If you want to know more about how MILLIONS of people who don’t wear a seatbelt can help you convince people… Go here:

Kristof Nemeth.