The golden tongue of salesmen

When I was younger, I didn’t understand salesmen.

When I was younger, I didn’t understand salesmen.

I watched them "do the deed", and it seemed to me like they had some kind of higher talent. Or more like...

A golden tongue.

An internal feel for what they have to say to get a prospect riled up and ready to buy. It seemed like magic to me(sometimes it still does lol).

And the same thing was true when I started writing copy...

It seemed like some copywriters just had this at birth. Like they got this golden pen or golden arm from where this magic just flows right out in a way that it was damn near impossible to reproduce.

And for a long time, I was unable to wrap my neck around it.

How are they doing this?

Where is the dictionary that says what you have to say to get people to buy?

But(sadly) there's no such thing.

At least, I wasn't able to find it.. So I decided to resort to the next best thing: These people are just like everyone else(for the most part), they just did something most didn't...

They learned how to sell.

They had a "feel" for what people wanted to hear because they asked and listened.

And once they knew what people wanted...

They gave it to them.

That simple...

There's no magic to it, just the basics. But it's funny that once you truly master the basics, and you live and breathe them... Someone from the outside who doesn't know what you are doing...

May just mistake it for pure magic.

Shows what you can really do with just a couple of well-learned tricks.

Kristof Nemeth.