Why I could never be a “digital nomad”

As of writing this, I’m at my girl’s place.

I sit in front of her desk while thinking real hard on what to write about. So much so that my struggle became my inspiration.

Literally.

Let me start with something Gene Schwartz said once…

“… I get myself a coffee, then I sit down. I sit down at the same desk every day. The desk where I had been writing for the last 30 years. I don’t write anywhere else.”

This was in a talk he gave to Philips Publishing.

And…

As I’m sitting here, sweating my way to a decent idea I think I start to get why Gene insisted on only writing at his desk.

I’m very much like him.

I do my best work when I’m home.

Sitting at MY desk.

It’s not that I can’t work anywhere else. I can. Of course, I can. But it really is a weird phenomenon because whenever I go over to my girl’s place I struggle like a cat to find something that I could write a decent email about.

I don’t know why.

But it feels like some shoved me back into my first month of writing and now I have to go through the struggle of finding ideas to write about all over again.

When I’m at MY desk, I don’t have this problem.

I rarely struggle.

At my girl’s place?

I always struggle lol.

It’s probably just my mind playing games on me. But still… If I can, I rather do my work at home. That’s where I do my best work.

With that said…

Your environment does have an effect on your work.

I know people who sit on the floor while writing. I could never do that.

Some like messy tables, and some need cleanness to focus.

And some - like me - do their best work when they are in the very same environment they have been working in for the last couple of years.

Do with that info as you please.

Kristof Nemeth.

P.S.

Now that I think about it… I think I would be a horrible digital nomad lmao.

Writing at a different place every other week?

Oh, hell naw.