• Kristof Nemeth
  • Posts
  • The ONE word that sends shivers down people's spine

The ONE word that sends shivers down people's spine

This afternoon my dad stormed into my room and declared(not really, he just asked) that I had to help him take pictures of the bait boat he wanted to sell.

And you know...

I almost always welcome a good excuse for avoiding the process of studying for my final math exam. So, off I was to take pictures.

We went out to the local pond, just so, you know, the pics will have a 'vibe' to them.

I took the photos.

And all was well...

Until I dragged my ass home and checked out the photos...

Well, one thing is for sure. I don't have to worry about ever becoming too famous as a photographer because I suck at it.

But this made me think.

I started thinking about my experience learning other skills like copywriting, coding, and web dev. Every single time I got into something new... Let that be something I was 110% passionate toward and thought that "I was made for this," or something that I couldn't stand doing...

I always sucked at it at first.

There was never ONE time I was good at something on the first fly.

Oh... Well... I take that back.

I was pretty good the first time I tried archery. But that's about it.

Everything else... Copy... Email... Writing... Writing code... Sometimes even just talking... I completely, positively sucked at it.

Maybe you are not like me.

But I know that I'm an extremely slow learner and there are very few things I'm naturally good at.

Everything I can now do decently, or at least not be a total ass at it... Took me work.

I'm not a great writer.

But just getting to the point I'm currently at - Which, to be honest, is a pretty good accomplishment taking into account where I started - took me nearly a year. I didn't write every day.

But I did write daily for at least 7-8 months out of that 12.

Whatever.

I firmly believe you can get good at just about anything - or at least half decent.

But it will take work.

For some people more, for some less.

It's the one word nobody wants to hear, but everyone has to at one point - work.

Kristof Nemeth.