• Kristof Nemeth
  • Posts
  • Why this overchewed and guru saliva-soaked advice is still the best you can get

Why this overchewed and guru saliva-soaked advice is still the best you can get

Why aren’t you using it??

You want the advice?

First of all, pipe down.

I’m not going to give you the advice just yet. Yet hear me out…

It’s for your own good. If I were to give you the advice I’m talking about right away you would scream, screech, and run away like a pig.

I don’t want that. So first…

I will explain WHY this overused advice is still one of the most potent ones, and why you should act on it ASAP.

Don’t worry, the advice is somewhere in here:

I was clueless when I got into copy.

So what did I do?

I did what every “normal” person would do and started to consume massive amounts of information, advice, and ideas about copywriting.

After one or two months I had a solid idea of what copywriting was.

And here’s the thing…

I knew about the basics like: know your audience, do your research, find your BIG idea, appeal to people’s emotions, talk about benefits and not features, be clear and concise, use personal language, end with a call to action - just to name a couple.

I got the idea of all this advice.

But exactly that was the problem. I only got the idea of what all this advice was meant to do.

I never really applied each one of them over and over and over again.

So I never really got to develop my own understanding of these ideas, I just knew what people told me was important.

I was basically reciting information I read on the internet.

If someone were to ask me what copywriting was all about, I would just tell them this:

You know it’s about… knowing your audience, doing your research, finding your BIG idea, appealing to people’s emotions, talking about benefits and not features,…

But I couldn’t explain these concepts to them in a deep way.

In a way that my explanation would come from my own understanding, and not from someone else’s.

But there’s more…

Guess what happened when I started to apply these concepts to my writing?

Once I actually acted on the frigging advice I got…

I immediately started to gain a deeper understanding of what this all - and what each concept alone - is about.

I started to own these concepts.

Just because I applied them and understood them.

If you read this far, the advice should be clear.

The only thing left for you is to…

Well, apply it and gain your own understanding of it.

‘Till next time

Kristof Nemeth