Playing pick-a-boo with sales

I opened my new-found writing software today and this quote headbutted me:

"Objects are lost only because people look where they are not rather than where they are."

Before I continue...

Some people collect watches, some coins, some stamps. I have a different kind of obsession. I collect too... Namely...

I collect writing software.

I'm not proud of it.

It's not pretty.

But my latest find has a feature where it throws a funny/insightful quote at you every time you open it. Today I got the one I reprinted in this email.

It's kinda funny...

But if I could have a chance to rewrite this quote(which I have) so it would fit copywriters and marketers more... It would certainly be even less funny then it is now... But because it would be painfully true about what most copywriters are doing wrong. It would look something like this:

"Sales are lost because copywriters look where they are not rather than where they are."

This means that we often focus on the wrong things as marketers and copywriters(especially copywriters).

Instead of searching for the best "power words" to use...

Maybe you should look at the words your market is using.

Instead of swiping the latest and "greatest" headlines you can find...

Maybe you would do better by doing more research.

And instead of whacking away hours and hours in front of a computer because of writer’s block...

Maybe you should just sit down and write whatever comes to you.

You can always edit it, after all.

Anyway.

Just some thoughts I had to get out of my mind after reading that quote. And as parting words...

Focus on where the sales ARE.

Kristof Nemeth.