Sales tricks that can backfire…

The other day I saw something that caught my interest on X...

A guy was saying that a salesman should be wearing a gold Rolex(or any kind of pricy watch) just because it will elevate his status in the eyes of the person he is trying to sell, make him more appealing and help him make the sale.

I know a lot of salesmen agree with that...

And I saw the Twitter mobs jumping around the guy in a circle too.

But I still don't agree with this advice.

Yeah, sure, it will appeal to everyday Twitter bro's whose only goal is to get rich by next Monday. They see money, they jump. And if you are selling in that environment, good for you, go for it.

But what if you aren't selling to money hungry Twitter bro's?

What if the case changes?

Matter of fact... I remember this same question was once asked of Jim Camp and he said that it's okay to wear a watch(as long as it's real) just don't expect the other guy to drop and play dead for you just because you wear a car on your wrist.

I'm not saying don't wear a watch…

Go ahead. That's it's purpose.

But, there may be times you don't want to wear one. Let's say…

You are meeting Mom and Pop in their house. In that situation…. Maybe you shouldn't go in a $10,000 suit with a matching watch just because you will intimidate the hell out of them.

That brings me to the point…

It's a tactic. And it's just like any other tactic... It works until it doesn't.

It has use case, sure…

But it's nice not a principle that can be applied universally.

It's completely up to the group and even the specific person you are dealing with. Sometimes it might even backfire at you...

Personally, I would not want to depend on a watch to do the selling for me. Even just the slightest.

Instead, what I would do is learn to sell - properly.

Because if I do that, no matter if I'm wearing my $12,000 Rolex or not... I will still be able to sell a person.

So that's that.

Kristof Nemeth.