size does matter...

I was scrolling away on Twitter...

You know getting my daily engagement in.

I was about to click on another crocs post to reply something funny...when it caught my eye.

It was a tweet. (WOW)

From an account, I know pretty well.

It was about a REALLY controversial topic here on Twitter...the length of your writing.

Hey, don't laugh. It's serious...

One wrong tweet about this topic and you get flooded with the aCchUaLLy guys.

Ohh and this tweet was exactly like that.

The tweet went something like this:

*Sometimes longer is better.

Don't write: "She was sad."

Write: "Her tears would have sunk a small boat."

Show, don't tell.*

Hmm...that first line sounds familiar.

Oh yea, my gf says it all the time.

I always tell her the opposite but she doesn't agree with me...

Anyways back to the topic before we get too far into my personal life...

I was afraid to open the comment section. Not even joking.

You see. On Twitter, the most common writing advice is to write short.

Like really short.

And people love this advice. Do you know why?

Because it's easy to write short.

It's a lot easier to write "She was sad".

Then write "Her tears would have sunk a small boat."

But generally, I agree with this advice.

People have short attention spans and love to read simple short texts.

Butt.

There are 2 problems with this.

First being that this type of writing won't benefit you outside of Twitter.

If you want to write a book, you can't write 4-5 word sentences all the way through.

You have to mix it up.

But if you learned writing by this rule you will have a hard time mixing sentence length.

And the second problem is that on Twitter, everybody writes like this.

So if you can't write in a fancier manner you won't stand out.

You see why this advice is bad?

You can't write only one way. You have to mix it up.

This way people will enjoy it more.

Okay, now I would gladly sell you something here, but I don't have a course on fancy writing lol.

And I can't bother to cross-reference it to my services so...

If you have any questions about copywriting just reply to this email.

(I WILL answer.)

'Till next time

-Kristof "fancy writing" Nemeth