The story you were never told...

I don't give away blatant tactics and fill-in headlines...

But I think this one is especially interesting and there's a lot to it, so I will make an exception. I will break my own rules so to say.

Here's what it's all about:

As I was listening to a copywriting podcast today, the host mentioned a sales letter he got in the mail with an especially intriguing headline that made him read the ad. As he read the headline... I also found it to be a really good one, and...

Even though I wasn't interested in what the letter was about... I still would have given it a read.

Here's how the headline went:

"The Kennedy Story You Were Never Told"

Just for context... This isn't about Dan Kennedy. This was talking about Kennedy as the president of the US, but that's kind of irrelevant.

What's more important... And what holds the core power of this headline, is the rest of it.

It implies that there's a story you were never told. People find this kind of stuff extremely intriguing and really hard NOT to read because it says to them, "hey, I never heard this story, it must be new". It also carries the power of a secret, something they don't know.

Now... You probably already know that if something is new and secret at the same time... People will want to read it. And they will too.

Yet...

Those words kind of became "obvious advertising fodder". And this is why I like this headline so much… It says there's something new and something secret... Without saying it.

There’s no mention of “secret” or “new”.

So... If it feels right, use it... You can do a headline like:

"The ... Story You Were Never Told."

And if you want to read about multiple stories you were never told, go to: