• Kristof Nemeth
  • Posts
  • If you struggle to start your copy, read these 19 words…

If you struggle to start your copy, read these 19 words…

“Copywriting is complicated.”

That’s what all the goo-roo’s want you to believe.

They post all kinds of B.S. about copywriting.

This formula that formula, this template, yada yada.

And since I’m on Twitter I get a great deal of this BS advice.

Even tho I try to shut it out as much as I can. I can’t unsee them.

So sometimes when I sit down to write copy I just get confused.

I don’t know what to do.

I go from one tab to another in hopes of inspiration.

Struggling to find a way to start my copy.

And then I just give up and do something else.

But this is only because of all the BS surrounding copy.

At its core copywriting is pretty straightforward.

And I will prove it to you.

I will introduce to you a 19-word lesson that always gets me out of trouble.

And helps me to start my copy:

“The sole purpose of the first sentence in an advertisement is to get you to read the second sentence.”

These 19 words do an amazing job of simplifying things.

It feels great to think about copywriting this way.

It frees you up from pressure. Especially if you are a beginner.

So whenever I get stuck, I just ask myself…

“Will this line keep the reader going?”

Or…

“Will it make her stop?”

‘Till next time

-Kristof