I think I just got robbed…

We are getting closer and closer to Christmas.

And because of this over the weekend I took my girl to the Winter Fair in Wien, which is quite famous for its beauty.

We had a great time, but if nothing were to happen I wouldn’t be writing this email. So I want to tell you a short story:

Let’s start with the fact that my girl wanted to buy chestnuts.

Well… there was a problem with that… price was the problem.

9 chestnuts cost 5 euros.

We wanted to see the other prices too so we made a circle, and we managed to find a cheaper option. It wasn’t a big difference in price between the two, but we wanted to buy a lot of nuts so I said:

“Let’s buy them here”

And then my girl asked me to go over to the other stand(the expensive one) and buy the damn nuts there.

I asked her why since this was the cheaper stand out of the two.

“The other one is more expensive so it’s gotta be better”

Now this surprised me…

But after I thought about it for a while it was pretty obvious what had happened here.

You know… most copywriters say “ Write copy so good your prospect won’t give a fudge about the price”

But price can become an important factor.

It is part of your product just like the features, benefits and looks. Because of this, price is able to influence your prospect the same way benefits do.

Generally speaking, the product with a higher price will be perceived as of higher value than the one with the lower price.

This is a natural reaction. We think that if someone charges more for a product he must have a reason to do so. It must be better than the rest.

Why?

Because if the product was bad, then the person selling it wouldn’t get away with raising his prices to the sky.

But back to the point…

You can influence your prospects “image” of your product... and also his or her decisions by changing your prices.

Now... whether you should move your prices up or down is something I can’t tell you because it depends on the market and your product.

But whatever you do, it will have an effect on your prospect.

That effect will create a reaction from your prospect. Ask questions such as: How will he react to this price point? And this one?

From that point on you need to find the price point where you get your desired reaction.