Withdrawals writing daily creates

It’s 10:12 PM and I haven’t written a single word yet.

(Besides 2 tweets but I don’t really count tweets as “writing”, they are more like brain farts)

I spent most of my day with my girl and also had some school work which I had to do. That means… I had no time - up until now - to write.

Some people might at this point just say “fuck it” and not write for the day.

And there are times I do that.

But usually…

I can’t.

I “feel it” if I don’t write.

Today, the thought that I haven’t yet written anything was still in the back of my mind and I wasn’t really able to get rid of it. It was just there, reminding me that I still have shit to do.

I was free to enjoy my day.

But I knew and felt that my day wasn’t “full” until I put some words down onto paper.

This is also why I choose to write right in the morning on days I can. It helps me feel like I won the day right from the start and from that point on I have a much better day. I feel a lot more “free” of the burden that I still have a task to do, and generally, I’m just happier.

Not that I turn depressed if I can’t write…

But writers who write every day know very well what I’m talking about.

It feels like something’s missing from your day.

That’s why I’m writing this email now too. I know that once I finish it and close Notion my day will have a much better ending to it.

This isn’t something you are “born into”.

You develop this.

It’s like the bodybuilder who goes to the gym every single day… At first it will hurt, but after some time if he can’t go a day or two, he will start to have withdrawals.

And if I don’t write daily…

I will start to have withdrawals too.

I believe that I’m not alone with this one either.

So if you have some trouble sitting down and writing every day… Don’t quit yet… It might just develop into a love for the craft. And even if it doesn’t…

Nothing is lost.

It was time well spent.

Kristof Nemeth.