How to write for their desires

I started writing copy 6 months ago.

At first, I didn’t understand 80% of the shit they wanted me to do.

But over time as I emerged in this world and hurt my ankle a couple of times, I realized that most of the concepts aren’t some hellish things that couldn’t be understood.

All you need is some basic understanding and practice.

So I did and I would say I made some great progress in 6 months.

But there was always this thing…

Teasing people’s desires.

It sounds so simple. And it is simple(if you know ONE thing).

Yet, I was eternally confused about it.

I just didn’t get it.

Until recently when someone finally explained it to me and the lightbulb finally went off .

He said nothing new. The only thing he did was organize the clutter of thoughts inside my brain about this topic and voila…

My vision was clear.

There are 2 steps to desires:

  1. You HAVE to know them

You just have to know what the hell folks want.

You can’t sell people a fat loss program when they have a 6.5% body fat. You want to sell them a fat loss program when they are 30% body fat.

Then you need to go out and ask them(or find out) what on earth they really want.

You see… This was my mistake.

I had no idea what they wanted.

I always did my research so I knew what they wanted on the surface. But I never dug deep enough, which is a fatal mistake. Usually people don’t even know the deep desires they have, so they can’t even tell you the real reason why they bought a product. Someone just touched on one of their deep desires the right way, and their wallet opened up.

But since I only had some surface desires I was unable to do the second step…

  1. Target them

Give them a picture of a better, faster, more beautiful world than the one they are in right now.

Know what they want and tease them with it.

Let’s be real… If you know what they want - I mean really know - this step is easy.

The first step is where most people fuck up.

They don’t go deep enough. And hey, I don’t blame them. I can’t because I made the same mistake, and sometimes still do.

What tells me when I haven’t gone deep enough?

I get stuck after the basic desires are listed.

Then I need to go back to the drawing board and DO MORE RESEACH.